Elta MD spf 50 didn’t work for me!

Such a shame!

These were taken last night, after my skin had already rested for about 7 hrs from the sunburnt!

These were taken last night, after my skin had already rested for about 7 hrs from the sunburnt!

I have read so many great reviews on EltaMD SPF 50. I used it the first time yesterday since I got it from SkincareRx. My husband and I wanted to go for a short hike and I thought it would be perfect to try out this water-resistent sport sunscreen.

I honestly think I have applied enough amount of this product. I only used my SkinCeuticals CEF serum after I washed my face. I applied one and a half pump of the sunscreen on my face 15 mins before we left home. It was all great at first, a little oily but not too bad. And I am sure a little bit of loose powder will do you the trick. I didn’t put on any makeup because I wanted to put on another layer later. There was definitely no white cast as long as you pat it into your skin patiently and gently. I then applied my second layer of one and a half pump sunscreen in the car while my husband was driving.

It took us about 30 mins to get to the trail. I was all excited but after about 20-30 mins in the sun, I started to experience some burns on my face. And I did wear a hat and sunglasses! It became worse after about 50 mins. I did sweat a bit, but Elta claims that you only need to reapply it after 80 mins of swimming or sweating. Because the trail wasn’t really that long, I didn’t bring the sunscreen with me to the trail. After I got back to the car, my face was all red and hurt so much! I have to admit that it was a bad time of the day to go for a hike. I swear I would never do it again! We took off from home at about 10:20 am and got back in our car from the trail at about 1:00 pm. However, it wasn’t an excuse for Elta’s poor performance! It is true that this product doesn’t sting your eyes at all. Often times my eyes get very watery after using chemical sunscreens. I suspect it’s from avobenzone in those chemical sunscreens and I have been trying to avoid this ingredient in sunscreens.

This morning, my husband also realized that he got a little bit of sunburnt from yesterday. But it was nothing compared to mine! My face is much better today though. I put on my La Mer cream yesterday after I cleaned my face and took a shower. My husband used Devita SPF 30 yesterday which I suspect has expired since he has had it for too long! And I am sure he only applied very little of it. I have seen him applying sunscreen and even though I have told him a billion times that he needs to apply more, he just wouldn’t listen to me. Oh, you know how stubborn men usually become when it comes to “cosmetics and skin care products”.

Anyway, I was really disappointed at this product. I don’t know if it was because my skin has become more sensitive to the sun from the use of 0.05% tretinoin or what, still, it should have done a much better job. I will see if I can return this product. Otherwise I will get a new sunscreen and only use this on my body, or pass it to my husband…

I hope you all had a good weekend and enjoyed the outdoor without any sunburnt!

hiking

xoxo,

Ling

Leave a Reply

