Current morning skincare routine

skincare routine

I wanted to document my current skin care routine and share with you my experience with these products. I took a shot of almost all the products I use (I did forget to include a couple of them…). I will talk about my morning routine and night routine in two separate posts.

I have slightly dry skin. My major concerns are adult acnes and hyper pigmentation from my adult acnes. I had no acnes before I was 22. My whole family have normal to dry skin. My parents and my sister had no problem with acnes ever as well. But I started to get really nasty acne problems since I came to the States for graduate school. I think it was mostly due to my busy school life. I had to stay up very late very often in the Architecture School. I didn’t really have the time to go to the gym. I was so behind at my sleep. I drank a lot of coffee and ate a lot of crap food. I started to have very bad PMS before my periods and had to start taking Advil. Now I have graduated from school for a year now and my skin has become so much better. I am really grateful in having a “life” back after school.

Right now in the morning, I use:

  • Cleanser: Cetaphil

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥

Everyone knows Cetaphil. It’s cheap. It’s very accessible and it’s dermatologist recommended. I use the “for all skin type” kind. There is another kind for oily skin. I have tried that before as well and decided to come back to this kind. I have a lot of friends who are big fans of Philosophy Purity cleanser. I honestly don’t think there is any big difference. I’d rather save my money to invest on a good serum.

  • Toner: none

I used to use toners religiously day and night. And although some people say toners are the least useful skin care products, I still use them. Don’t get me wrong. I am not using toners right at this moment only because I am using a vitamin C serum and I think in order for the serum to work best, I need to apply the serum as the first layer on a clean face.

Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ (CEF), ♥♥♥♥ (Phyto)

Some people like to use the CEF, Phyto and B5 serums together, like the three musketeers =). I didn’t buy the B5 serum because it is only a hydrating serum. I am not saying that hydrating serums are not important. On the contrary, I think they are super important and I do believe there are good and bad hydrating serums. I didn’t buy the B5 serum altogether because I thought I could simply add a nice moisturizer on the top if I ever experience some dryness. Plus CEF is for normal to dry skin. The vitamin E in it works very well in moisturizing my skin. If you have oily to combination skin, I would recommend you to try the PCF serum. Actually SkinCeuticals just came out a new PCF gel. The pump packaging is much better in terms of keeping the serum fresh. I would have purchased this instead if not because I have slightly dry skin.

The CEF serum contains 15% L-ascorbic acid (Vitamin C), 1% alpha tocopherol (Vitamin E), and 0.5% ferulic acid. I do believe it is one of the strongest antioxidant skin care products on the market and it is favored by a lot of dermatologists as well. I can see my skin gets brighter and my sunscreen works better together with this serum.

The Phyto serum is a very gentle treatment serum for hyper pigmentation. I like it because it doesn’t sting my skin like some other brightening/whitening products do. My acne scars have definitely been much lighter lately. I think it is a result of all my skincare products. I am very interested in Ellure products now after reading about dermatologists’ choices in hyper pigmentation. I might give that a try if I am still concerned about my hyper pigmentation after I am done with this serum. I would recommend this serum to those of you who have really sensitive skin but suffer from hyper pigmentation issues.

Rating: ♥♥♥♥ (took one heart off because it’s really expensive to me..)

I got this eye cream during last year’s Bergdorf Goodman beauty event. I just couldn’t resist buying it after reading so many good reviews about it. It is still very very expensive to me even with 20% off. But I do love this eye cream and think it worth the money. It’s so moisturizing and smoothing. It absorbs very quickly as well. I actually think it helped minimize my fine lines at inner conners of my eyes. Among all the eye creams I have used so far, sisleya eye and lip contour cream from Sisley is the closest in price to this one. And it didn’t work so well in terms of diminishing/minimizing fine lines compare to La Prairie on me, although both of them have really good reviews. And I don’t feel in need of an extra eye serum while using this. A little bit of it goes a long way.

  • Moisturizer: I don’t quite feel like the need of using a moisturizer after using two serums. When my skin does feel dry, I top some sulwhasoo timetreasure lotion.

Rating: ♥♥♥♥

I like this sunscreen a lot. It doesn’t leave my skin with a terrifying white mask, nor gives a sticky or heavy feeling. It is definitely on the pricy side for a sunscreen. And one thing I don’t like about it is that it contains alcohol. I will write another post about this sunscreen and the Dior sunscreen, which are the two most expensive sunscreen products I have purchased.

I am pretty happy about my current morning routine and will keep looking for less expensive, alcohol-free sunscreens.

One thought on “Current morning skincare routine

  1. Pingback: Nuvosa Skincare Review - Beauty Brite

Leave a Reply

